## **Announcement**

Since its inception, Letters in Linear Algebra (LLA) has been a separate journal appearing within the same covers as Linear Algebra and its Applications (LAA). With this issue, it officially becomes a section of LAA and is retitled Reports. The scope of the section is the same as that of LAA. The aim is publication of articles which report on a specific area or application. These may be shorter state-of-the-art surveys which collate results of several authors (including perhaps previously unpublished results of the writer), or longer expository articles which can serve as an introduction to a subject for people in related areas and which bring one to the frontiers of research.

George P. Barker will continue as editor of *Reports*. Manuscripts for this section can be submitted to its editor or any of its collaborating editors, as well as other members of the editorial board of *LAA*.

## The Alston S. Householder Award (1981)

The winners of the fourth Householder Award were announced at the Gatlinburg VIII Symposium at Oxford University, (Oxford, England) in July, 1981. The Award Committee consisted of W. Gragg, H. Schneider, J. Stoer, and R. S. Varga (Chairman). Thirteen theses were accepted for full consideration

This year, the prize was shared by Drs. E. Marques de Sá (advisor: Graciano de Olivoira) and P. van Dooren (advisor: Patrick Dewilde). Dr. Marques de Sá's thesis was entitled, "Imersão de Matrizes E Entrelaçamento De Factores Invariantes," while Dr. van Dooren's thesis was, "The Generalized Eigenstructure Problem: Applications in Linear System Theory." Both winners were present at the Gatlinburg VIII Symposium, and each gave a lucid exposition of the main features of his thesis.

At the first two of Householder Award Ceremonies, the Award Committee singled out a small number of theses as being worthy of honorable mention. On this occasion, as was the case at the third award ceremony, the Award Committee felt that, because the general level of entry was so uniformly high, it was unable to make such awards at this time.

The committee for the Fifth Householder Award (W. Gragg, H. Schneider, J. Stoer, and G. W. Stewart) will, in due course, invite the submission of theses awarded after September 1, 1980 for consideration for this award. The general conditions for the award remain unchanged, and can be found in *Linear Algebra and Its Applications*, Vol. 17, p. 189 (1977). A further announcement containing the closing date for the next competition will also appear in this Journal.